Things that make you go hmmmm…..

Well….this is an interesting place to be.  I’m not sure about how I feel about putting my thoughts out there for the world, but I do love the fact that this community exists.

I came here because I am just as intensely obsessed with education as all of these people that have already begun their journey in the reflective world of blogging.  I like to say that education is not only my “job” but my hobby.  Most of my friends and colleagues (even occasionally my husband) do not understand that.

I enjoy ALL things education…

  • Special Education
  • Math Education
  • Professional Development about Education
  • Curriculum Writing
  • Universal Design for Learning
  • The list can go on…

But…first and foremost, I just plain old LOVE MATH.  I’ve loved math my entire life.  I can’t remember having a bad teacher…only teachers that made me love math more.

I even majored in math for my undergraduate degree and didn’t work towards education until my graduate degree.

Interestingly…my very first teaching job was at a place called The Harbour School (this is a non-public special education facility for students K – 21).

This was the best professional development that I have ever experienced…teaching math to ALL of the students that entered the high school portion of the program–students with Autism, Asperger’s Syndrome, Learning Disabilities, Cerebral Palsy, Speech and Language difficulties, etc.  I taught students that were community based…but also students that worked towards your typical advanced math classes.

So, I am certified in both secondary math and special education.  But, now I work in a public middle school in southern Maryland.  This school pulls from Title I elementary schools and serves underprivileged students.  I work as an Instructional Resource Teacher in my building…and work daily with teachers and students.

So, all of these experiences have created the lens through which I view all things math education.  I love to absorb it ALL!

3 thoughts on “Things that make you go hmmmm…..

  1. I can’t imagine teaching such a wide range of students, in age, in ability, in whatever! It sounds both exciting and terrifying to me. Of course, middle school also sounds terrifying to me.

    The idea of this as a job and a hobby is so true. I live and breathe teaching and education and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I feel lucky to have a job that I am so passionate about.

    Like

  2. I’ve been looking for a Secondary Mathematics Special Education blog to follow. (and I’ve been asked to recommend one many times too).

    I came up from Elementary to secondary, I followed my oldest son up from ele. to middle and he left me behind in High School. I am good as scaffolding material for learners working at a basic level, but I would love to see what strategies you recommend for special ed students.

    Please continue blogging!!

    Scott Hills
    planting-ideas.blogspot.com

    Like

Leave a comment