Using Tackk to Share with Colleagues

I heard the best quote from a colleague last week…she said

“I used to think learning math was about doing, doing, doing…and now I know it’s about meaningfully doing.”

I’m not gonna lie…I got a little tear in my eye when I heard that phrase.

As an instructional coach (technically my title is Instructional Resource Teacher), I struggle with how much to share re: all of the great resources that I come across.  There are SO MANY great things out there…but it can be very overwhelming.  I decided that if I really want people to take in some of these resources…I need to find a bite-size delivery model.

@RafranzDavis always has great Ed-Tech resources to share…and one she shared recently was Tackk.

Tackk image for wordpress

(You can read more about how Rafranz has used Tackk here.)  

I decided to check out the site myself, and couldn’t believe the ease of use.  And IT’S FREE!

I had been looking for a way to deliver content and updates to the math department at my school~so, I decided to see what it would look like in this format.

Here is what I came up with:
See on Tackk.com

Notice I shared one blog post, a quick video, a link to a print resource…and then some important dates and updates for our department.

I plan to do this weekly…I know there are a lot of other uses for this technology and maybe my colleagues will explore how it could be used in their classroom.

3 thoughts on “Using Tackk to Share with Colleagues

  1. Hi Bridget, thanks so much for sharing this. I am also an instructional support teacher so I am always curious about how other instructional support teachers are sharing info/resources with the group. This is really helpful!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I came across your blog while completing a project for an educational technology class in my graduate program at the University of Kentucky. The plan was to find 3 GREAT blogs worth sharing with the rest of the class.

    I teach 6th grade math in an area with a high percentage of special needs students as well as gap students. This is my 3rd year at the school and teacher turnover is rapid here so each year I have had a new content partner in math. You have highlighted a great resource to use for hitting the high notes, but I was wondering if you had a plan in place for follow up/ or lessons for your colleagues on how to use some of the apps and if there was any follow up opportunities to see how it went?

    Like

    • Hi Anna! Thanks for reaching out here…

      I use Tackk to share with my colleagues weekly (I am the Instructional Resource Teacher in my building). I am trying to avoid a constant stream of emails saying “Hey, try this…try this,” etc. I wanted to be focused and deliver great things to check out in a way that’s easy for them to come back to. Also, it allows my colleagues to come back to the resources on their own time which is so important for adult learners/professionals.

      Some of my colleagues are more apt to take something and run with it on their own…and others come to me and ask me follow up questions.

      I have thought about following up on some resources by following the Lunch and Learn idea used by this Tackk user (https://tackk.com/@techchef4u).

      Let me know if this does or doesn’t answer your question…good luck to you as you complete your degree!!! =)

      Like

Leave a Reply

